Cool Product Thursday: Clif Nectar Bars

clif-nectar.jpg

I spent much of my lunch hour yesterday discussing energy/protein/diet bars with a friend, comparing various brands and their respective pros and cons.

None of these bars are staples in my diet. I guess I’m more of what you’d call a casual bar eater. And anyone who knows me knows I am no athlete. Therefore, I have no need to ingest 21 grams of protein in bar form. Ever.

I’m not looking for a meal replacement so much as a snack; something I can eat on the go, if necessary. Because anyone who knows me also knows that I get extremely cranky when I don’t eat for long periods of time; sometimes for short periods of time. And this crankiness can come on very suddenly. So it’s good to be prepared.

Enter the Clif Nectar bar. Made from five or less all-organic ingredients, each of these bars contains two servings of fruit. I tried the Dark Chocolate & Walnut bar, which is made from dates, walnuts, unsweetened chocolate, cocoa and vanilla. That’s it. It’s got 160 calories, 6 grams of fat, 3 grams of protein and 6 grams of dietary fiber. It’s also wheat, gluten and dairy free.

But the best part? It tastes like a Little Debbie fudge brownie. You know, the ones with the little walnuts on top that your mom used to put in your lunch box? Or the ones you tried to get from other kids in exchange for your pretzels or pudding cup? That didn’t work very often, did it? Well, here’s your chance to have your brownie, and eat it too.

1 Comment

Filed under Cool Products

One response to “Cool Product Thursday: Clif Nectar Bars

  1. Barry Hirsch

    Hi Joanna:

    On behalf of Clif Nectar I’d love to send you some more samples, especially the new Clif Nectar Cacao line.
    If you’d like to email me back with your mailing address I’ll drop those in the mail with a press kit.

    We just like to be supportive of those that support us. And I think they’ll like the new flavors.

    Thanks-
    Barry

Leave a Reply

