Spinach and Leek Soup with Cumin

It’s two days into the new year, and I haven’t quite rid my apartment of holiday indulgences. There are still some treats from my stocking lingering in the pantry, a few Christmas cookies in the freezer, a bottle of Champagne in the fridge and a big box of Belgian truffles that just arrived today (sigh).

I am, however, trying to ease my way into healthier eating. This simple soup has helped get me on my way. It’s made with a handful of ingredients and just makes me feel good. Not in the same way a big wedge of brie or a scoop of gingerbread lemon cream trifle make me feel good – and, believe me, they do.

It’s the kind of good that comes from knowing I’m eating something truly healthy and inspires me to do more of the same. And that’s the kind of good I can really use right about now.

Spinach and Leek Soup with Cumin
Serves 2-3

2 leeks, cleaned and tops removed and thinly sliced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 quart vegetable stock
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups fresh spinach (or 1 cup frozen)
juice of 1 lemon

In a heavy pot, heat olive oil. Add leeks and cook until softened, about 10 minutes. Add stock, cumin and salt and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

Mix in spinach and simmer for another 2 minutes. If desired, blend about 1/3 of soup. Mix in lemon juice. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Enjoy.

Happy eating in the New Year!

2 Comments

Filed under Soups and Stews

2 responses to “Spinach and Leek Soup with Cumin

  1. love the simple soup and happy new year to you.

  2. I’d like to personally invite you to join the CookEatShare Author network. CookEatShare has had over 2.5 million unique visitors in 2009, and I think they will be interested in your content. Users will be guided to your actual blog, so this is a free way to increase page views and visitors to your site.

    Please contact me at mary@cookeatshare.com for more information, to get unique link to claim and customize your profile. Please visit http://cookeatshare.com/blogs/apply for additional information.

Leave a Reply

