Homemade Prepared Horseradish

I don’t usually go for impulse buys at the grocery store. Trader Joe’s has certainly gotten me a few times with some sort of dark chocolate treat, but mini cookbooks of 100 Jello recipes and the “extreme values” that Jewel cashiers mumble about (like a crumpled bag of Teddy Grahams) are pretty easy to pass up. Sometimes, though, a totally random item will catch my eye and I have to have it. Like today, when I went to Gene’s Sausage Shop for eggs and yogurt and came home with a giant $10 horseradish root.

I’ve never even seen a fresh horseradish root before, let alone worked with one, but it seemed like the perfect time of year to give it a try. Horseradish is an important part of one family Easter celebration that I usually attend, eaten with ham, lamb and/or Polish sausage. There are always a few jars of it on the buffet and an ongoing discussion about where to get the freshest stuff. Well, what could be fresher than grating and preparing it yourself?

I used a pretty basic recipe to prepare my horseradish – grinding it in the food processor with a couple pinches of salt, some water and a few tablespoons of white vinegar. You can find exact proportions on plenty of other web sites, so I won’t bother with them here.

I will say that a sharp knife and a food processor are important to have on hand. First you have to peel the root, which can be very knobby. I found it easiest to use a knife instead of a vegetable peeler and, as Mark Bittman recommends in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, “acknowledge from the outset that you will lose some of the flesh.” The horseradish flesh that is, not your own – so long as you cut carefully.

From there, I used the food processor to grate the root and then used the chopping blade to grind it down even further and mix in the rest of the ingredients. You could skip the grating step though and just cut the root into pieces and grind them with the chopping blade. Whatever you do, though, don’t try to grate the root by hand. It’s a frustrating and pointless endeavor.

But having a big jar of super-fresh horseradish on hand is pretty satisfying. I’ve got a few dishes in mind for it, and I’ve already mixed it up with some grated beets for a recipe that is totally new to me: pickled eggs. We’ll see how that goes.

I’m sure there will be plenty leftover for Easter next weekend, where hopefully my jar will be the freshest on the table.

14 Comments

Filed under ingredients, Misc.

14 responses to “Homemade Prepared Horseradish

  1. Wow. Don’t think I’ve ever had fresh horseradish. It makes me think of roast beef, perfect pairing. Oh, now I’m hungry, thanks!

  2. Yesterday, I was shopping at the Dill Pickle and eyed some horseradish root. I thought about buying it, but didn’t. Looks like I’ll be headed back soon. I love love love horseradish.

  3. i don’t like horseradish, the taste so weird :(

  4. we use a national panasonic food processor and this seems to be a bang for the buck*:,

  5. `’, that seems to be a great topic, i really love it ,~:

  6. cherryyou

    fedfedfdsfes

  7. My brother told me about a great site where you can get loads of information about ways to grow facial hair. I didn’t realise that some men struggle to grow beards and stuff but I can see why a site dedicated to this subject would be helpful to a lot of men. Anyway, if you want to grow a beard or learn tips to make hair growth faster then visit http://www.growfacialhairfaster.com.

  8. I actually extremely prefer anything you place in this article. Incredibly insightful plus intelligent. One situation however. I’m operating Safari by using Debian plus parts within your current style types absolutely are a minimal wonky. I actually realize it’s not much of a common put in place. Nevertheless it’s a specific thing so that you can have in view. I actually trust not wearing running shoes might enable plus always keep in the prime level of quality crafting.

  9. What i don’t understood is in reality how you’re now not actually a lot more smartly-liked than you might be now. You’re very intelligent. You understand thus significantly in terms of this matter, produced me for my part believe it from so many varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved until it’s something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs nice. Always handle it up!

  10. Hey People!

    Nice post! i love it! I think we have to start thinking on that, couse the world will need it, we will need it! I foun some info, you migh want to see… Plant Your Food at Home -Tips for home cultivation – http://www.planthome.blogspot.com

    Cheers!

    JDN

  11. It could be a miracle cure from dengue in day!
    For more plz visit: http://adf.ly/SmhqE

  12. Nice post. Something new & interesting.

Leave a Reply

